PEASS Program

PEASS, Program of Arabic for the Study of Social Sciences, is an intensive language program designed for students and researchers working on issues relating to the contemporary Arab World.

The program is designed for non-native speakers of Arabic who wish to substantially improve their proficiency level and, hence, gain direct access to written and oral (audio-visual) sources pertaining to their field of study. It combines two complementary approaches:

A linguistic approach geared towards the development of communicative and pragmatic competencies of Modern Arabic together with language accuracy in terms of structure and syntactic control, spelling as well as word choice.

An academic approach geared towards training and research in social sciences as well as the study of issues that entail fieldwork in countries of the Arab World.

Long-term program, mid-term program, short-term program

Every year, the overall PEASS program comes in several formats, ranging from a long-term program which takes up 500 contact hours and runs from September through May, a 300-hour program (September through December) and short term summer program of 100 to 200 hours in June and/or July.

A program specifically designed for students interested in social sciences

The PEASS program is especially designed for students enrolled in degree programs in Social Sciences (Sociology, Political Science, History, Anthropology and Economics) and postgraduate students (Master and doctoral students).

Students undertaking their second or third year of undergraduate study are also eligible for the PEASS program.

Other eligible students include students registered in programs of Political Sciences, Public Policy, International Relations, Arabic Language, Culture and Civilization as long as they express an interest in research in the field of Social Sciences.For further information, please consult the section on Eligibility Criteria. 

Ecoutez les interviews des étudiants du PEASS

Le PEASS

Le programme des études arabes appliquées aux sciences sociales (PEASS) est un programme d’intensification linguistique destiné aux étudiants et aux chercheurs en sciences sociales qui travaillent sur le monde arabe.

Elaboré spécifiquement pour des publics non arabophones qui souhaitent améliorer substantiellement leur niveau de langue arabe pour accéder directement aux sources écrites et orales de leurs terrains de recherche, le programme combine deux approches complémentaires :

  • Une approche linguistique, tournée vers le développement des compétences communicationnelles et pragmatiques en arabe moderne ainsi que vers l’amélioration du niveau de correction linguistique en grammaire, orthographe et lexique;
  • Une approche académique, orientée vers la formation à la recherche en sciences sociales et vers l’exploration d’objets d’études requérant la réalisation de terrains dans le monde arabe.

Le PEASS est un programme proposé par l’EGE Rabat.

Le programme long, le programme moyen, les programmes courts

Le PEASS est proposé chaque année sous la forme d’un programme long de 500 heures (de septembre à mai), d’un programme moyen de 300 heures (de septembre à décembre), et de programmes courts d’été de 100 ou 200 heures, en juin et/ou en juillet.

 

Un programme spécifiquement conçu pour les étudiants intéressés par les sciences sociales

Le PEASS est spécifiquement conçu pour les étudiants inscrits dans des cursus de sciences sociales (sociologie, science politique, histoire, anthropologie, économie) qui poursuivent un programme de master ou de doctorat, au moment de leur candidature.

Les étudiants inscrits en 2ème année de licence au moment de leur candidature sont également éligibles au programme.

Les étudiants inscrits dans des cursus de sciences politiques, affaires publiques ou relations internationales, ainsi que les étudiants inscrits dans des cursus de langue, culture et civilisation arabe, intéressés par la recherche en sciences sociales, peuvent aussi candidater au PEASS.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez la page Conditions d’éligibilité.

Ecoutez les interviews des étudiants du PEASS